Christopher Beattie (Class of 1992)

Chris Beattie is an Australian former professional rugby league footballer. Beattie made his debut in the National Rugby League in 2000, playing for the Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks. A regular in the Sharks side, he went on to represent Queensland in the State of Origin. Beattie was signed by the Perpignan-based Catalans Dragons in their inaugural Super League season in 2006, after five seasons with the Sharks. He signed a one-year deal with the Sydney City Roosters for 2007 and in 2008 he joined the Lézignan Sangliers, a French rugby league club.

Adam Scott (Class of 1992)

Adam Scott, White Cloud Foundation’s Founder and Chair, has been nominated for a 2023 Australian of the Year Award. Adam’s nomination recognises his outstanding contributions both as a pioneer in the field of Cardiac Science, particularly his development of a Cardiovascular Telemedicine Program for rural Australia, and his dedicated work with White Cloud.

Adam humbly acknowledges that the success of White Cloud Foundation and the Tele-Mental Health Service is not solely his achievement. He expresses profound gratitude to his family, friends, the dedicated staff and volunteers of the White Cloud Tele-Mental Health Service, the Clinical Advisory Group, and the esteemed members of the White Cloud Foundation Board who have provided invaluable support on this remarkable journey.

Tu Tamarua (Class of 1992)

Tu Tamarua played for Queensland Reds from 1997 to 1999. He later played for NEC Harlequins, in England. Tamarua played for Australia Sevens, in 2000, but played instead for the Cook Islands national rugby union team. He was the first and still the only Cook Islands player to have been selected and played for the Pacific Islanders, in 2004.

Damian Smith (Class of 1993)

Damian Smith is a former Australian rugby union player. He played for Queensland and went on to win 21 caps for Australia between 1993 and 1998. He also played for the St George Dragons, St Helens and the North Queensland Cowboys. In 1998, Smith joined St Helens and in 1999, Smith returned to Australia, signing for the North Queensland Cowboys.

Aaron Hollett (Class of 1993)

In 2018 Old Boy Aaron Hollett (Class of 1993) won his third Walkley Award, receiving the Television/Video Journalism Category Award for his work on the Four Corners episode The “City of Ghosts”. This project took Aaron and reporter Matt Brown to the city of Raqqa in Syria, the capital of the Islamic State for four years, immediately after the ISIS fighters were pushed out by coalition forces.

Aaron shot for 16 straight days, averaging 15 hours a day, in a place totally cut off from the world—no rule of law, no water, no electricity, no phones. The population were slowly trickling back into their obliterated city. He wrote in his entry, “We faced intense logistical challenges and threats to our safety, mainly unexploded bombs that were planted as booby traps by ISIS in most buildings. It was a harrowing experience, not knowing if your next step would trigger an explosion.”

Aaron was the Middle East camera operator and editor for the ABC. He started his career as a photographer at the Queensland Times newspaper in 1995 and worked for Seven News before joining the ABC in 2010. After a brief return to Australia, Aaron is now working for the BBC World Service in Beirut, Lebanon shooting stories from within the Middle East and afar.

Richard Rawlings (Class of 1993)

Richard Rawlings was an Australian polo player who was a member of the national team in the 2001 at the 14-Goal World Championships. Winning the Countess of Dudley Cup and the National Open Championships.

Steven Reeks (Class of 1994)

Steven started archery as a toddler and won his first world championship at the age of 13. He competed in bow hunting, target and field archery and over the next few years won state, national and world championships. Reeks was the youngest adult world champion and had been preparing to shoot on the US Professional Circuit when he was tragically killed in a roadside accident aged 22.

Dale Young (Class of 1995)

When Dale Young moved to Tanzania with his partner Dr Tanya Russell in 2007 to support her work in malaria research, he never imagined he would find his life’s calling.

Dale was named Queensland’s 2010 Young Professional Engineer of the year for his development of a water, sanitisation and hygiene project in Tanzania. Unlike many other projects which rely on unmaintainable expensive foreign technology, Dale’s approach has been to employ simple techniques which enable production and installation by the local people.

His expanding project is now largely community run with the assistance of a small number of foreign staff. The MSABI Project is one of the largest water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) non-profit organisations in Tanzania. The program directly benefited approximately 118,000 people through the provision of water or sanitation infrastructure and 450,000 through hygiene sensitisation programs.

Adam Connelly (Class of 1996)

Adam Connelly is an Australian former rugby league footballer who played for the North Queensland Cowboys in the National Rugby League.

Jonathan Krause (Class of 1998)

Jonathan Krause is an Australian Liberal National Party politician who is the member of the Legislative Assembly of Queensland for Scenic Rim. He was first elected in 2012 as the member for Beaudesert, which was renamed in 2017.

Shane Watson (Class of 1998)

Shane Watson continued his rapid rise in Australian cricket by being named Vice-Captain of the national side in all three forms of the game. After winning the Allan Border Medal in 2010, Watson swept the board in 2011, winning the medal again along with the Test and one-day Player of the Year awards before retiring from Test cricket in 2015. Shane now plays for and captains Sydney Thunder in the Big Bash League.