Timothy Owen AM (Class of 1971)

Air Commodore Timothy Owen AM is a former Australian politician and a former deputy commander of the Australian Forces. Owen served in the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF), commencing in 1977, and rising to the rank of Air Commodore and deputy commander of the Australian Forces in Iraq and Afghanistan. He was a member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly representing the electoral district of Newcastle for the Liberal Party from the 2011 New South Wales state election.

Emanuel Kallinicos OAM (Class of 1971)

Emanuel Kallinicos received the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia for service to the Greek Community of Queensland in 2023. In the last decades, Emanuel has been Treasurer, Vice-President, and President of the Greek Orthodox Community of St George in Queensland. He was also Treasurer and member of the Kytherian Association of Queensland and a Founding Director of the earlier Kytherian Brotherhood of Queensland.

Shane Thompson (Class of 1973)

After leaving school, Shane pursued his interest in drawing by enrolling in a parttime architecture degree at QUT while working to pay his way. In 1976, he undertook a grand tour of the major architectural sites in Europe, which he describes as a formative experience.

He graduated with a Diploma of Architecture in 1979 and soon established his architecture practice eventually merging with a larger firm in Brisbane in 1984, forming Bligh Voller Nield. This is now one of the largest architectural firms in Australia and they have undertaken several significant projects both in Australia and Internationally. These have included the Brisbane Domestic and International Airport Terminals, Sydney Olympic Stadium, Docklands Stadium Melbourne, Hyatt Resort Coolum and Olympic facilities in Athens, Beijing and London.

Shane is also the recipient of over 80 awards and prizes, including the Royal Boyd Award for Residential Architecture from the Australian Institute of Architects. #igsoldboys

David Rodney (Dick) Orbell (Class of 1979)

Dick Orbell represented Australia in backstroke at the 1984 Olympic Games and the 1982 and 1986 Commonwealth Games. In 1982 he won silver in the 200m backstroke and gold in the medley relay. Orbell was an assistant coach of the team for the 2000 Paralympics. #yourplaceinhistory #igs